In class activity

            First of all, my personal network tends to very much agree with Nathan’s discovery about the lack of diversity. My group of friends tends to be very much like myself, mainly white coming from around the same social background and the same beliefs. This is mainly due to my wanting of being surrounded by people much like myself, as I can always relate to them and we also have the same characteristics and personality, something that I want in a friend.

            I have mainly met my friends through shared experiences and groups that have brought us together. These include shared classes, shared floor/dorm, pickup basketball, and parties off campus that brought us together. Similar to Nathan’s observations, I have continued friendships from high school and home and some of these people tend to be some of my better friends on campus.

            As for the time frame of acquaintance, I agree with Nathan on the fact that students tend to create a group of friends early on in the academic year. I have experienced the same for the most part, as most of my friends today were also my friends early on in the year. Some people have come and gone, but for the most part, I am still acquainted with the same group of people as I was in the first quarter of school.

            The people in my network also tend to share the same network experiences as I do. Most of their friends also tend to be from the same background/ethnicity, like me. This further supports Nathan’s claim that college students tend to surround themselves with people very similar to themselves.

Leave a Reply

